Daily Prompt: Jump

via Daily Prompt: Jump

 

Jump.  Run.  Climb.  Walk.  Anything.

That’s what I need to be doing.  This time last year, I was in the best shape of my life.  The Hubs and I had joined a gym and had been working out faithfully all year.  We were less than two months from a 5K mud run, which wasn’t why we joined the gym–but seemed not so daunting since we were in shape.

A year later, I am soft and squishy and chronically lazy in general.  And, now I am 3 weeks away from this year’s 5K.  I am worried about my survival.  Last year was brutal even though I was prepared.  The information provided on the run promises that emergency medical help will be on standby for anyone needing it.  I fear that I will be that “anyone”.  If I complete the race on a stretcher carried by a couple of buff paramedics, does that count?

I have to keep reminding myself that this 5K is for charity–and a charity that I have personal ties to, no less.  It’s for charity.  It’s for charity.  That’s my mantra.  Prepared or not, in just a couple of weeks I will be jumping off of platforms into pits of muddy water, climbing up hills so slippery with mud they might was well be covered in plastic sheeting and cooking oil, pulling myself up unsteady rope ladders, and the like.

Last year, my team was lapped by the two heats that started after us.  🙂  To be fair, we were probably one of the teams with the oldest average age.  The race is known as MuckFest MS, which benefits the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.  This year, the backs of our shirts will say “We’re old.  Go the MUCK around us.” in order to give a heads-up to the spry teenagers behind us that are easily making their way through the obstacles like troops of adolescent monkeys.

If this diatribe is making you feel an ounce of pity, please consider donating to our team!  http://main.nationalmssociety.org/goto/MudSweatCheers

Peace and MuckFest grease

Song of the day:

Stuck in the Middle With You by Stealers Wheel.  One of my all time faves that always puts me in a good mood and gets my toes to tappin’ and my head to bobbin’.

 

Book of the day:

Image result for the last anniversary moriarty

I just started The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarty this morning.  So far, so good.  I really enjoyed the last book of hers that I read, Big Little Lies.

Recipe of the day:

Blueberry Slump

This is always a hit when I make it for company.  (Funny I should put this recipe on a how-out-of-shape-I-am post.)  Recipe by Saveur.

http://www.saveur.com/

Ingredients

2 cups flour
1 34 cups sugar, plus more for sprinkling
4 12 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. kosher salt
4 tbsp. unsalted butter, cubed and chilled
1 14 cups milk
1 12 lb. blueberries
1 cup fresh orange juice
14 cup fresh lemon juice
Vanilla ice cream, for serving

Instructions

Whisk together flour, 14 cup sugar, baking powder, and 12 tsp. salt in a large bowl; add butter, and using your fingers, rub butter into flour until pea-size crumbles form. Add milk, and stir just until a moist dough forms; cover and refrigerate dough until ready to use.
Heat oven to 400°. Bring remaining sugar and salt along with blueberries and citrus juices to a boil in a 12″ cast-iron or enamelware skillet over high heat, stirring to dissolve sugar. Remove pan from heat, and using two tablespoons, portion and form chilled dough into 2-3″ oval dumplings, and drop them evenly on top of the blueberry mixture. Sprinkle dough dumplings with sugar, and transfer skillet to oven; bake until biscuits are cooked through and blueberry mixture is reduced, about 25 minutes. Serve hot with vanilla bean ice cream.
Devour.
Leave a Reply

