Just Stoppin’ By to Say Howdy

I don’t have anything riveting to write about this evening. This partially wonderful, partially wretched weekend is winding to a close with the Dallas Cowboys game. I would call myself a default fan. Maybe an in-law fan. When I married The Hubs, I also inherited my role as a Cowboys fan. It’s an okay job to have. Their team colors are very wearable. Watch parties with The Hubs and his friends often involve screaming and sometimes throwing stuff at the TV. It isn’t rare to see someone pleading on their knees. There is always someone you know that hates the Cowboys just as passionately as the most devout fan loves them, and crap-talk can get ridiculous. I personally prefer fantasy football. We have played on a league for about ten years now. Yes. My name is on the trophy. It’s probably the only trophy in existence with my name on it….

I hope you all have a pleasant, productive Monday. I’d wish you a “great” or “fabulous” Monday, but let’s be reasonable.

Peace and football players’ face grease. (I’m certain that stuff has an actual name, but this has a nice ring to it. Don’t you think?)

Recipe of the day:

My mom’s pimiento cheese (gloriously unhealthy comfort food):

  1. 8 oz softened cream cheese
  2. 1/2 cup mayo
  3. 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  4. 1/4 tsp onion powder
  5. 1 jalapeño, deseeded
  6. 4 oz diced pimientos, drained
  7. Salt & pepper, to taste
  8. 2 cups sharp cheddar, freshly shredded

Mix everything except the cheddar in a medium bowl. Add cheddar and mix again. Store in fridge in a covered container. Eat your weight’s worth on Fritos. Just go ahead and make a double batch.

Book of the day:

Image result for the language of flowers

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

This book was recommended to me by a cousin, and I have been recommending it in turn since I listened to the last word of it. (I’m an audiobookphile, in case ya didn’t know.)  There are two interwoven parts to this book.  The story itself is beautiful and tugs at your heart-strings.  The other aspect of the book is the language of flowers.  I had no idea that every flower that you give to someone actually means something specific.  I found the whole thing fascinating.

Song of the day:

Dustbowl Dance by Mumford & Sons

(I LOVE this song.)

Leave a Reply

