It Takes a Village

I’m still here, in case you missed me. Life has been crazy busy, and I’ve hardly had time to breathe, much less blog.  It’s mind-boggling how much preparation and how many people it takes to get ready to have surgery and check out of productive life for a few weeks.  There are doctors  and nurses and insurance personnel and hospital personnel. There is my husband and my mom helping all they can. There are co-workers to train, duties to divide up, and loose ends to tend to. Appointments, chores, shopping, food prep, a haircut, packing, medical preparation.  Frankly, I could do without hearing the word ‘surgery’ again for a few years. I am truly appreciative of everyone, and I am sorry for disrupting lives.

Well, I guess you’ve figured out that I did survive MuckFest after all. And, it was surprisingly fun this year. Last year was fun, too, but it was miserably cold, and I spent hours wet and shivering. I attempted every obstacle this time and only ended up walking around two impossibly slippery mud hills (after sliding down them on my knees and/or buttocks several times). That is vastly better than 2015. One of my teammates contracted food poisoning the night before the race, and another had an asthmatic episode just a few mud-laden steps into the course.  Though it wasn’t fun for all, I had a good time and walked away feeling proud of myself. And with a limp. And an impressive bruise in the crack of me arse.

Perhaps I won’t stay gone from my blog so long next time. I will have a couple of weeks with little else to do after all…..

Hope you are all well. Peace and robotic surgeon elbow grease. (Do robots have elbows exactly?)

Song of the day:

Only if For a Night by Florence + the Machine. Because I heard this song today for the first time in ages. And I rocked it out and nailed every note like I do when I’m driving alone. 😉

Book of the day:

Image result for landline rainbow

Landline by Rainbow Rowell. I have read other books by Rowell. They’ve all been pretty good, but they’ve all been YA fiction. I love YA fiction probably a bit too much–don’t get me wrong. Landline was geared more toward adults, and refreshingly so.  It is a tale of a troubled marriage and the wife’s unlikely chance to make things right.

Recipe of the day:

Creamy Cheesy Chili Potato Casserole via http://www.food.com.

I make this stuff whenever The Hubs cooks up a giant pot of chili.  It is ridiculously good.  Seriously.  It is probably illegal in some countries because nothing should be so friggin’ tasty.

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Layer sliced potatoes, chili, cubed cream cheese, cream of mushroom soup, and cheddar cheese in a greased casserole dish.
  2. Repeat layers (like lasagna).
  3. Bake covered in a 350 degree oven for 1 1/2 hours.
  4. Top with additional cheddar cheese and bake uncovered for 10 minutes.
  5. Allow casserole to set for 20 minutes and serve.
One thought on “It Takes a Village

Leave a Reply

