A Different Perspective

Well, here I am post-surgery, and time no longer has the same meaning as before.  I don’t mean that nearly as profoundly as it sounds.  I mean that my sleep schedule is all kinds of jacked up.  I have been sleeping off and on around the clock.  And, now it is 3:30 a.m., and I am wide awake.  I have been sitting beside my window watching cars drive up and down my street and wondering what in the world has these people up at this hour.  I kind of like being awake in the middle of the night.  Things are peaceful.  The world outside is beautiful.  You can hear the sounds that are lost during the day.  The absence of light gives my familiar surroundings a new and mysterious façade.

My recovery time is going to be lonely.  The Hubs has to go back to work.  And I am left in a solitary world of my own making.  I spent several years wrapped in a shroud of depression so veiled that I did not even recognize it myself for quite some time.  During that time, I slowly and methodically removed myself from almost all of my friends’ lives.  I pushed people away.  I did this by not coming around, not inviting people over, and declining invitations thrown my way.  The Hubs and I have swapped our old roles.  I used to be the social butterfly who dragged him along often against his will.  Now he’s the one with a social life, and he often ends up being one of my few companions.  I hate that I did this to everyone.  I have tried reaching out in recent years in an effort to repair some of the relationships that I had once distanced myself from.  But, what’s done is done.  And, I can’t blame everyone for moving on with their lives.  It has kind of been a bit hurtful that many of the people that I expected to pop in and check on me have been all radio silence.  I know that sounds selfish, but it is what it is.  The truth is often unattractive.  But, that will be my only complaint on the matter.

Narcotics are having quite an impact on my already-vivid dreams.  Every time I take one of the prescribed pills (which isn’t often as I despise taking pain medicine), I have such realistic dreams that I have to spend time convincing myself that it was indeed just a dream.  And, each time I have been extremely relieved when I finally decide that it couldn’t have been real.  Shudder!

I just wanted to take a moment in this quietness to drop a few lines.  I think I will go back to watching the night world outside my window until sleep finds me yet again.  I hope all is well in your worlds.

Peace and night critter grease.  Ha!  That sounds kind of grody….

Song of the Day:

The Sound of Silence – Disturbed (I love love love this version).  And, I find this song appropriate with the time of night and my mood.

Book of the Day:

Image result for let's get lost adi

Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

I just finished this book for the A Book that Gives You Wanderlust requirement of the 2016 Reading Challenge.  I love a good road trip, and this book is about just that.  It is very John Green-esque, and I love some John Green.  I have mentioned my affinity for YA fiction before.

Recipe of the Day:

Savory Bacon-Cheddar Pancakes with Corn and Jalapeno via http://www.seriouseats.com.  I very much enjoyed this savory twist on the old breakfast staple.  Nom nom nom.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 4 ounces bacon, cut into fine dice
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh corn kernels (from about 2 ears of corn)
  • 1 to 2 red or green jalapeño peppers, stemmed, seeded, and minced
  • 8 scallions, thinly sliced (divided)
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup (about 5 ounces) fine yellow cornmeal
  • 1 cup (about 5 ounces) all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons honey, plus more for serving
  • 2 eggs
  • 10 ounces (about 1 1/4 cup) cultured buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil, plus more for oiling pan or griddle
  • 4 ounces cheddar cheese, cut into 1/4-inch cubes

Directions

  1. Heat butter, bacon, and 1 tablespoon water in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook, stirring, until water evaporates and bacon begins to crisp and brown, about 5 minutes. Add corn, increase heat to high, and cook, stirring, until tender and cooked through, about 2 minutes. Add jalapeño peppers and half of scallions and cook, stirring, until aromatic, about 1 minute. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer mixture to a plate to cool slightly.
  2. Combine cornmeal, flour, 1 teaspoon kosher salt, baking powder, baking soda, honey, eggs, buttermilk, 2 tablespoons oil, half of corn/bacon mixture, and half of remaining scallions in a large bowl and stir and fold until no dry streaks of flour remain but batter is still lumpy. Fold in cheese cubes.
  3. Heat griddle or large non-stick or cast iron skillet over medium-low heat for 5 minutes. Add a small amount of oil to the griddle and spread with a paper towel. Ladle 1/4 to 1/2 cup of batter onto the griddle, spreading it into an even circle. Repeat to fit as many pancakes as you can. Spread a 1 tablespoon-sized portion of the bacon/corn mixture on top of each pancake.
  4. Cook undisturbed until edges of pancakes begin to set and bubbles start to break the top surface, about 1 1/2 to 2 minutes. Carefully flip the pancakes with a thin, flexible spatula and cook on second side until golden brown and completely set, about 2 minutes longer. Transfer to a wire rack set in a rimmed baking sheet in a warm oven while you cook the remaining pancakes. Serve, garnished with remaining scallions and drizzled with honey.
One thought on “A Different Perspective

Leave a Reply

