Day 8 of the Hostage Situation

Not being allowed to do much of anything except lounge about sucks a lot more than you think it would.  I am insane with boredom.  Let me give you an overview of a typical day:  I awake in the middle of the night for no apparent reason and pace around quietly so as not to disturb the household.  I read or play around on my phone or the laptop.  I watch TV.  I eventually doze back off.  I am up and wide awake again before anyone else.  After everyone has gone off to their lives outside of the house (lucky dogs), I get dressed just for gits and shiggles and then rustle up some breakfast.  I then give each seat in the living room the loving attention of my backside in equal turns.  I march around the house in random dance steps or high knees or MC Hammer style, getting my pseudo-exercise for the day.  As early as can be justified, I eat some lunch.  I basically repeat my morning activities, though I may also paint something or write a letter or unload the dishwasher (light dishes only!) just so I feel like I’ve done something productive.  There is usually a nap or two thrown in there as well.  Then I anxiously await the return of the household.  We visit, eat dinner, shower, watch TV, and go to bed.  And one more day is crossed off.

I have been experimenting with my confinement wardrobe, resurrecting several pieces that have not seen daylight in years.  The Hubs has yet to comment on my severely mismatched and out-of-date duds, but he has shot me a couple of raised eyebrows.  A few days ago, I entertained some of my in-laws with my britches unbuttoned and folded down, no bra, and my hair pushed back in a headband so that my hair stood straight up off my head with a very Statue of Liberty-esque effect.  They were too polite to comment.

I know I’m whiney.  You don’t have to tell me.  🙂  But alas, this too shall pass.  I’ll be back at work soon enough, wondering to myself why I didn’t enjoy my time away more than I did.

Peace and hardcore bumming it grease.

Recipe of the day:

Tomatillo Salsa Verde via http://www.shewearsmanyhats.com

I came across this recipe back when I was participating in Bountiful Baskets.  (This is a fabulous organization.  If you love to cook and/or can, you should check to see if there is a program in your ‘hood. http://www.bountifulbaskets.org)  It is basically heaven in a jar.

Ingredients
  • 2 pounds tomatillos, husks removed & washed
  • 6 jalapeños
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1 medium-large onion
  • ⅔ cup fresh cilantro leaves
  • 2 teaspoon salt
Instructions
  1. Chop the onion in half, crush the garlic, and leave the jalapeños and tomatillos whole. Roast on a baking sheet in a 400-degrees F oven for about 15 minutes, turning all halfway over through roasting time.
  2. Peel the garlic, deseed and rough chop the jalapeño, and peel and rough chop the onion.
  3. In a food processor, add all roasted ingredients, plus cilantro and salt and pulse until all ingredients are chopped and desired consistency is reached.

Makes 5 cups.

Book of the day:

Image result for wake fade gone

The Wake trilogy by Lisa McMann.  It has been four years since I read this YA trilogy, but I truly enjoyed them.  The books follow 17-year-old Janie, who has the unique ability/curse of being sucked into other people’s dreams.  This not only gives her entirely TMI about the people around her, but it takes a toll on her mental and physical health.  I gave Wake, Fade, and Gone all three five stars on Goodreads back when I originally read them.

Song of the day:

Do I Wanna Know by Arctic Monkeys.  I like this song for several reasons, the least of which is the unusually long sentences in the lyrics.  Ha!

One thought on “Day 8 of the Hostage Situation

  1. Jeanie Weenie says:

    Girl, you should start calling me. I can help you pass some time, what with me being such a delightful conversationist. HA! I almost got that out with a straight face. That salsa verde is the bomb. I could eat the whole bowl with a spoon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

