That Time I Died

Good morning to all 2 of my readers!  How are y’all?  I am in a pretty darn good mood.  Tomorrow I get to go see my doctor for my 2-week follow-up and hopefully be released from my confinement.  I am beyond ready to get back to my normal ol’ life.  I am ready to be able to drive.  I am ready to be able to get up and do whatever just because I want to.  Hell, I’m even ready to be able to do laundry again.

I had another strange dream last night.  Bizarre dreams are the norm, but I can’t always remember them.  I remember this one because it is a recurring dream.  I’ve had it at least twice before.  I and a few friends and family are at a combination fair/flea market type place.  Instead of shopping, you are handed a scavenger hunt list.  The fair/flea market is in one extremely long rectangular shaped building that just goes from one room to the next to the next to the next to the next……each room being a different shop owned by a different person and selling different wares.  You must maneuver from room to room marking objects off of your list.  And not all are physical objects.  One item from my list last night was to get the lady who sells umbrellas to tell you a story.  The recurring part is that one list item is to find your own headstone.  Yes, there is a shop that contains headstones.  They don’t sell them.  It’s more like a library or an index.  If you have a headstone in there with your name on it, you have died at some point in your life.  And, I knew from previous visits to the shop that I had a headstone in there….you know….from that time I died when I was 16.  Last night, a friend and I were making our way through our lists, and I started digging in the piles for my headstone.  She looked at me like I was crazy, but I knew it was there.  When I found my stone and showed it to her, she asked me if I was okay.  I shrugged and told her that I didn’t guess I was since I had died.  This all seemed very logical.  I marked the item off of my list, and we continued on our way.

Well, I guess I’ll get this day started.  Bad TV, eye roll-inducing political Facebook posts, my Kindle, the dishes, and a nap or two.  I simply cannot contain my excitement.  Y’all have a blessed day!

Peace and tombstone grease.

Song of the day:

Holding On To You by twenty one pilots.  This is the song that turned me on to twenty one pilots.  They friggin’ rock.  I love their quirky, yet thoughtful lyrics and their beats that make you want to shake it.  This is no longer my favorite song of theirs, but I will always love it.

Recipe of the day:

Honey Garlic Butter Shrimp in Coconut Milk with Fried Plantains via http://www.halfbakedharvest.com

I came across this recipe one day when I was craving something with coconut milk.  It is insane.  It is probably one of the best recipes I have ever tried.  I had zero experience with plantains when I made it and was fortunate enough to get ones that weren’t very ripe.  The second time I made this recipe, I got ones that were very ripe and soft and sweet, and it just wasn’t the same.  I highly recommend getting not-so-ripe plantains.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound raw tail on shrimp
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 4-6 cloves garlic, finely minced or grated
  • 1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger
  • 2 jalapenos, seeded + chopped
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 cup canned coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons fresh basil, chopped + more fore serving
  • kosher salt + pepper
  • steamed white rice + black beans + sliced avocado, for serving

Fried Plantains

  • 4 yellow plantains, sliced into 1/2 inch rounds
  • oil, for frying
  • flaky sea salt

Instructions

Add the shrimp to a gallon size Ziplock bag or medium size bowl. Add the olive oil, honey, garlic, ginger, jalapeños, cayenne, cumin and cilantro. Toss well to combine, seal the bag or cover the bowl and place in the fridge for 15-30 minutes or up 24 hours.

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Once hot use a slotted spoon to scoop the shrimp out of the marinade and into the hot skillet, season with salt and pepper. Make sure to scoop up all the garlic as well. Cook the shrimp until pink, about 2-3 minutes per side. Add the butter and 1 teaspoon pepper (or more or less to your taste) to the skillet. Continue to cook the shrimp in the butter until the garlic begins to caramelize and turn LIGHT golden brown, about another minute or two. Be careful not to burn the garlic. Remove from the heat and stir in the coconut milk and basil.

Serve shrimp alongside rice, black beans, fried plantains, avocado and lime wedges. Garnish with freshly chopped basil.

Fried Plantains

Heat an inch or so of oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Once the oil is hot add the plantains and fry for 2-3 minutes per side or until just lightly golden. Remove and drain on paper towels. Now transfer the plantains to a cutting board and, using the back of a wooden spoon, smash them down into round flat disks.

Return the plantains to the hot oil and fry another 2-3 minutes on each side or until they are golden and crispy. Remove to a paper towel lined plate and sprinkle with salt. Chips are best eaten right after frying, but any leftovers can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature.

Book(s) of the Day:

I am listing three books today.  All three are set in bookstores, which is awesome, and which I love.  All three are very different and very compelling stories.  How great would it be to work in a bookstore?  Or better yet, live in one?

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

Image result for stories life of aj fikry

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

Image result for mr. penumbra's 24-hour bookstore

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Image result for shadow of the wind

All three books earned 5 stars on Goodreads and a warm fuzzy place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

