You Make Me Grinchy

Happy day-after-Thanksgiving!  I hope everyone survived with their zippers and family relationships intact.  We haven’t celebrated yet.  In fact, I had a bag of gummy worms for lunch yesterday….  The Hubs’ family will gather on Saturday.  I had to cancel the planned gathering with my family yesterday because I am once again on bed rest.  Sigh…..  I feel so bad for The Hubs.  He is left with taking care of absolutely everything while I watch from the couch feeling like a useless slug.  After this is all over with, I would love to put him on an airplane and send him off to see his northern family for some r&r away from my needy self and this house.  Maybe I will find a way to do just that.

Well, now that Thanksgiving is over, we can roll right on into Christmas.  Again with a big sigh……  I know I come off as perpetually bitter and down in these posts.  I swear I’m not that way all of the time!  I just really dislike this time of year.  It is all so commercialized that it makes me ill to the very pit of my stomach.  Christmas is supposed to be about celebrating the birth of Christ.  I don’t think it could be any further from that now.  Of course, in many places you can’t even say “Merry Christmas” without totally offending someone.  **insert eye roll**  Things have gotten so bad with some members of our family that they actually have the audacity to call us and tell us what they want us to buy them for Christmas.  The level of rudeness and greediness astounds me.  Last year, The Hubs and I didn’t buy anything for anyone, packed a bag, and slipped off to the Gaylord Texan without telling anyone.  It was probably the best Christmas we’ve had in ages.  No pressure to buy gifts for people we only see once a year.  No pressure to cook dinner for 50 people.  No nothing but the two of us, peace in quiet away from all of the nonsense and drama, and the Gaylord’s annual ICE event.  We ignored our phones and just absolutely shut out the world.  It was wonderful.  I swear that I do want to celebrate Jesus.  I truly believe that He did live on earth as a man.  I truly do believe that He gave His life for us.  I just do not believe much in participating in the removal of religion from the holiday and pumping hundreds or thousands of dollars into buying crap for ungrateful little brats.  🙂  Call my a tyrant, if you will.  And, yes.  Perhaps I could better help the cause by volunteering somewhere or spending money on those in need.  That may be my holiday goal this year.

Regardless, ’tis the season!  I hope all of you (all two of you) have a blessed Thanksgiving/Christmas season.  I hope everyone keeps God in their hearts.  And, I hope you all renew relationships, share the love, and realize how blessed and fortunate you are.

Peace and turkey grease!

Recipe of the day:

If you’re looking for a way to use up all that leftover Thanksgiving ham and mashed potatoes, I have just the recipe for you!

Cheddar Mashed Potato and Ham Bake via http://www.southernfood.com.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 c sliced celery
  • 1 c chopped onion
  • 3 c diced leftover ham
  • 1 can (10 1/2 oz) cream of celery soup
  • 1/2 c milk
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 4-5 c leftover mashed potatoes
  • 2 lg eggs
  • 1/2 c milk (I prefer to use 1/4 c here)
  • 1/2 c chopped green onion
  • 1 Tbsp fresh chopped parsley
  • 6 oz shredded sharp Cheddar cheese, divided

Directions:

  • Butter a 2 1/2-3 qt baking dish.  Heat oven to 350.
  • Melt the butter in a skillet over medium-low heat.  Add the celery and onion and sauté, stirring frequently, until onion in translucent.  Add ham and continue cooking until ham is lightly browned.  Stir in soup, 1/2 c milk, and salt and pepper.
  • If the mashed potatoes are cold, warm them to make them easier to mix.  Whisk together the eggs, milk, green onion, and parsley and add to potatoes.  Reserve about 1/3 c of cheese for topping, and add the rest to the potato mixture.
  • Spoon the ham mixture into the prepared baking dish.  Spread the potato mixture over the ham mixture and top with the reserved cheese.  Season with a bit of freshly ground pepper.  Bake for about 40-50 minutes until lightly browned.

Song of the Day:

Sail by AWOLNATION.  I’m posting the unofficial video because it makes me laugh.  🙂

Book of the Day:

Image result for water for elephants

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen.  Man I loved this book.  It’s the classic having-nothing-and-going-through-hardships-and-coming-out-on-the-other-side-to-get-the-girl-and-have-a-happy-life story.

2 thoughts on “You Make Me Grinchy

  1. Jeanie Weenie says:

    Recipe sounds yummy and I liked the video. I hope Christmas this year is better for y’all. I say just ignore everyone and just do you two. They’ll get over it. HA! Hope you feel better soon. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

