Baby, It’s Cold Outside

Good morning!  And how are you on this fine wintery Wednesday?  You gotta love Texas weather.  It went from being pretty warm to kinda chilly to downright nipply in the span of a week.  I think I am going to have to bust out my furry boots tomorrow.

Are you all geared up for Christmas festivities?  I am not.  I haven’t even got around to dragging out my tree and decorations.  The probability of that happening lessens a bit more with each passing day.  I have entertained the thought of making gifts, but it hasn’t got out of the jotting-it-down-on-paper stage.  Geez, I’m pathetic.  I hope you have your act together better than I do!

I am getting excited about next year’s reading challenge.  Please join us here!  Invite your friends!  The challenge consists of two lists of categories–one main list and one bonus list.  Throughout the year, you choose books to read to fulfill each category and report back to the group what you read and what you thought about it.  With the exception of one category (reread a book from your childhood), you cannot use books that you have previously read.  You cannot put the same book into more than one category.  The purpose is to challenge yourself to read something that you might not normally read.  2017 will be my third reading challenge.  I am really enjoying participating.

On another exciting note, my fantasy football team is 13-0!  I have no idea how I have managed to do that, but the only place I have bragged is here on WordPress.  I’m trying not to jinx my good luck.  The guys in my league are not impressed.  Ha!

Well, y’all have a wonderful week.  Stay warm & snuggly!

Peace and paperback grease!

Recipe of the day:

Pecan Jewel Cookies with Spicy Jam Filling via http://www.cookingchanneltv.com.  I made these for our office Christmas lunch, and the were absolutely delicious.

ingredients

  • 3 cups pecans, coarsely chopped
  • 2/3 cup raspberry jam (the jam should have a thick consistency because it spreads during baking)
  • Pinch cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup light or dark brown sugar, packed
  • 3 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature (1 1/2 cups)

directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Roast the pecans on a baking sheet until fragrant and toasted, 7 to 9 minutes. Set aside to cool, and then pour into a shallow dish. Mix together the jam and cayenne in a small bowl until the cayenne is evenly distributed.

Cream together the sugar and butter in a large bowl, using an electric mixer on medium-high speed, until light and fluffy, 2 minutes. Beat in the egg yolks, vanilla and salt until combined. Reduce the speed to low and beat in the flour until just combined. Shape the dough into 1-inch balls (about 2 teaspoons dough per ball).

Lightly beat the egg whites in a small bowl. Brush or roll the dough balls in the beaten egg whites and then roll each ball in the chopped pecans. Place the balls 2 to 3 inches apart on the baking sheets. Press an indentation into the center of each ball using a thick straw, chopstick or the end of a wooden spoon, and then fill the hole with a small amount of filling, about 1/2 teaspoon. Bake until the edges turn golden, 15 to 17 minutes. Cool completely on the sheets on a wire rack.

Song of the day:

Better Days by Goo Goo Dolls.  A sort of non-traditional Christmas song that I love.

Book of the day:

Image result for it ends with us colleen hoover
It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover.  My cousin recommended this book to me, and it was wonderful.  And sad.  And wonderful.  I gave it four stars on Goodreads, though it may have warranted five stars……
2 thoughts on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside

  1. Jeanie Weenie says:

    Last year, I didn’t put up not one Christmas decoration. I have a feeling the same thing is going to happen this year. I just can’t seem to make myself do it. Love the Goo Goo Dolls. Awesome book!

    Like

    • If I could physically wrangle the tree out of its hidey hole in the garage, it would probably be up. But, I can’t. And, The Hubs does not seem inclined to decorate, so screw it. It’s kinda nice not having to undecorated. Don’t you think? And thank you for recommending that book. Loved it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

