Daily Prompt: Flee

via Daily Prompt: Flee

I often have the urge to flee.  I’m pretty sure this means that I am not living up to Adulting Standards.  I want to flee work.  I want to flee bills.  I want to flee chores.  I want to flee from my job, this town, this humdrum life.  Isn’t that awful?

Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”  Hebrews 13:5

But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it.  1 Timothy 6:6-7

 In other words, shouldn’t I be content with my life?  Why do I have the desire to flee from all of the blessings that God has given me and this life that He has appointed me to?  Because I am weak and whiny.  That’s why.  I know how blessed I am.  And yet, there are time when I would gladly leave it all behind for the mere chance at another life.  I know it is crazy.  Changing the setting of my life would not solve anything.  In fact, it would most likely come with its own set of problems and stresses.  Hopefully, I will get the chance to travel more.  I think that would help.  Being trapped inside these four office walls day in and day out is what makes me the most anxious.  It is why I jump at any chance to go anywhere.  It hardly matters where.  I have friends who almost never leave the county, much less the state.  I cannot fathom how they keep from going completely insane.  Am I alone in this?  Do you fantasize about taking the ones you care about most and heading off into the Great Unknown without ever looking back?

On another note, I finally decorated for Christmas.  And, I did some Christmas shopping online yesterday afternoon.  Woot!  Watching the lights on my tree twinkle does put me in a more festive mind set.  I don’t know why I fight Christmas so hard each year.  I do actually enjoy some of it.  I enjoy driving around and looking at lights.  I enjoy Christmas music (to an extent.  There are limits…..).  I love time spent with family.  Watching children and the wonder on their faces makes me happy.  Giving appreciated gifts makes me feel good.  It isn’t all bad!  I guess I just need to be reminded each year.
I hope that you and yours have a very Merry Christmas.  I pray that you get to spend the holdiays with those you love.  I pray for contentment in your life and in mine.  Much love to all!
Peace and that’s it.  Just peace

Song of the day:

O Holy Night.  This is my second favorite Christmas song.  It gives me goose bumps every time I hear it.  This is Christina Grimmie’s version.  She was a promising young singer who was tragically murdered by a crazed fan outside of a concert in Florida this past summer.  I love her voice.  And, I love that she sings more than just the most well-known verse.

Book of the day:

Image result for humans of new york stories
Humans of New York:  Stories by Brandon Stanton.  I began following Humans of New York’s Facebook page at the recommendation of a friend.  Brandon Stanton is a photographer/journalist who takes photos of people in New York and publishes little biographies, quotes, stories, etc. of the subjects.  They range from one sentence to a couple of paragraphs.  They are sad, funny, touching, insightful, alarming, wonderful.  I was excited to see that he put out some of the collections in book form.  I recommend both this book and that you follow him on Facebook.  I read that he has a blog, too, though I haven’t yet sought it out.  It is a riveting peek into the varied lives of people from all walks of life.

Recipe of the day:

The Hubs’ Beef Enchiladas
Yum.  Seriously.
1-2 lbs. ground lean beef
onion
garlic
enchilada sauce
salt, pepper, garlic powder
small white corn tortillas
Wolf brand chili with no beans
freshly shredded cheddar cheese
None of these ingredients are measured out, because that’s how The Hubs makes this.  Just guess on how much you need by how many you want to make.  One pound of meat makes about a dozen very stuffed enchiladas.  Season and brown beef along with onion and garlic.  Don’t drain the grease.  Add enchilada sauce and let simmer for a while.  (The Hubs likes his quite saucy and uses two small cans for one pound of meat.)  Warm the chili on low heat.  It doesn’t have to be hot, just warm.  Set up a pan of water on high heat and start boiling.  Set a pizza screen on top of pan.  Once boiling, steam the tortillas, flipping them back and forth on each side on the pizza screen until you can stuff and roll them without them breaking.  (You can also achieve this by frying them in oil, but this is healthier.)  Stuff the tortillas with a line of saucy meat and onions and some shredded cheese, tightly roll, and line them up in a greased baking dish.  You can pack them in there pretty tightly.  Once you are out of meat, pour remaining sauce from the pan in to the pot with the warming chili.  Pour chili over rolled enchiladas.  Top with remaining shredded cheddar.  Bake for about 30 minutes at 350 or until everything is melted and bubbly.  You can also put these in a foil pan and freeze them for cooking at a later date.  We usually make two pans–one for now and one for later.  Serve with Mexican rice and refried beans.
Leave a Reply

