Ice Cube’s a Pimp

Today was a good day.  Writing that starts the music player in my head to rapping:

Just waking up in the morning gotta thank God / I don’t know but today seems kinda odd / No barking from the dogs, no smog / And momma cooked a breakfast with no hog.

Which leads me to think of the time I spent a week helping one of our stores set up their new scanning program.  I had to scan every single solitary item in this c-store, enter a description and a price into the system, and assign it to a category.  It was tedious work.  I allowed myself one bit of mischief to make me enjoy my time just a wee bit more–I put “Ice Cube’s a Pimp” in the description for a pack of Ice Cube gum.  Giggle.  It’s the little things in life….

Today I spent the day Christmas shopping with The Hubs and attending a Christmas party.  Yes, I do believe my little Scroogey self is actually succumbing to Christmas cheer.  One of my retired co-workers and his wife, who is also an ex co-worker, attended.  I have missed them so.  I had the best time chatting with them and some other folks that I haven’t seen in quite some time.  And, of course we pigged out, which is always lovely.  And, I brought a peppermint chocolate chip Nothing Bundt Cake to the party.  Has anyone else discovered the terrible awful wonderfulness of Nothing Bundt Cake cakes?  If you haven’t, please forget I said anything…..SAVE YOURSELF!

The Hubs and I decided to eliminate the stress of the commercialized hemorrhaging of money that is Christmas shopping by agreeing to only buy gifts for all of the toddlers and babies of the family.  Viola!  Stress gone.  Babies don’t give two poops what you give them.  And, for the most part, neither do toddlers.  This was the best year of Christmas shopping that I can remember.  It made me feel warm & fuzzy to purchase Glo Worms and other classic, simple gifts.  And, now we’re done!  Now I am going to sit back and focus on enjoying the rest of the Christmas season by spending time with the family and being mesmerized by twinkly Christmas lights.

I cannot end this post without mentioning the emotionally unstable weather we experienced today.  It is December.  December, people!  When I woke up this morning, it was already in the 70s.  By this afternoon, it was in the 80s.  The low for this evening is supposed to be in the teens.  What the…….???  Gotta love Texas weather.

Peace and my thermometer is so confused grease.  (These are starting to make less and less sense….)

Song of the Day:

Sweater Weather by The Neighbourhood.  Because, well because it is sweater weather.  At least it has been for part of this wonderful day.

Recipe of the Day:

Sausage and Black Bean Dip via http://www.plainchicken.com .  This is not at all healthy, but it’s warm and wonderful, and you will eat 2 tons of it on Fritos.  Just accept that fact.

  • 3/4 lb ground pork sausage, cooked and drained
  • 6 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 c plain Greek yogurt
  • 2 c shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 can Rotel, drained
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

Preheat oven to 350.  Mix all ingredients together and pour into a baking dish.  Bake 30-40 minutes, or until bubbly.  Serve with tortilla or corn chips.

Book(s) of the Day:

Image result for millennium books Image result for the girl in the spider's web

The Millennium series by Steig Larsson.  It took me two tries to get into the first book, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.  I swear that if you can get past the beginning, there is a story there–and a good one at that.  This series is graphic and brutal, but wonderfully told and riveting.  I read the original three books in rapid succession.  Unfortunately, the author died before completing the fourth book.  I have heard that his girlfriend was familiar with what he intended to do with the story line, but that his family blocked her from finishing and publishing it.  A fourth book, The Girl in the Spider’s Web, was released in 2015.  However, I read that it isn’t the unfinished book started by Larsson but a completely new story.  I have read all four books.  The fourth one is good, but it definitely has a different feel and tone than the first three.

 

Leave a Reply

