I Bring You Good Tidings of Great Joy

Merry Christmas!  I hope that each of you get to spend time with loved ones.  I hope you laugh until your side hurts.  I hope you are blessed with a Christmas feast.  I hope you have the chance to be a blessing to someone else.  And, I hope you take time to honor the birth of Jesus Christ.

…Just then, an angel of the Lord stood before them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified.  But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid!  For behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy that will be for all the people:  Today in the city of David a Savior has been born to you.  He is Christ the Lord!…  Luke 2:9-11

We are headed to my folks’ place tomorrow.  Everyone will be there.  My heart needs a good dose of family.  My great nephew will be experiencing his first Christmas, and I can’t wait to watch him play with wrapping paper and ignore his toys.  Ha!  Right now, The Hubs and his cousin are cracking pecans that will become spiced pecans by the end of the night, and we’re watching Die Hard.  As the recent meme says, it isn’t Christmas until I’ve watched Die Hard.  I hope that you are kicked back in some festive pjs, sipping hot cocoa, and listening for sleigh bells.   

Peace and love to you all over the world.

Song of the Day

Hallelujah by Lindsey Stirling.  I have watched this video about a dozen times today.  Hallelujah is on my all-time favorite songs list, and Lindsey Stirling does an absolutely beautiful rendition.  I wish she would perform with 2Cellos, and I wish they would come to a venue close enough for me to see them.  And, I wish they would give me free tickets for suggesting such a successful tour…..hint hint…..

Recipe of the Day

My Mother-in-Law’s Spiced Pecans

  • 2 egg whites
  • 4 cups pecan halves
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350.  Beat egg whites.  Fold pecans into egg whites.  Fold in sugar, cinnamon, and salt.  Spread evenly over a large cookie sheet.  Bake 25-30 minutes, stirring regularly.

Book of the Day

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz.  My very good friend has been after me for ages to read this series, and I’m finally doing it.  The main character, named Odd Thomas (duh.), communicates with the dead.  Aside from that, he seems like a layed-back, cool kind of dude.  I’m only a couple of chapters in, and I can already tell that I will love it.  

 

Leave a Reply

