Can I Get a Mulligan?

Today my great uncle passed away.  I found out that a beloved friend was diagnosed with an aggressive cancer.  I found out that I may have to testify in a court case.  And, I got food poisoning.

And, I have decided that my boobs will disappear altogether within the next 10 years.  They are small, which means that the natural gravity/sagging process is going to just obliterate them completely.

And how was your day?

Song of the Day

The Scientist by Coldplay.  Because this is a sad ass video, and today was a sad ass day.

Book(s) of the Day

Image result for killing lincolnImage result for killing kennedyImage result for killing jesusImage result for killing pattonImage result for killing reagan bookImage result for killing the rising sun

The Killing series by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard.  I am currently reading Killing the Rising Sun:  How America Vanquished WWII Japan, which is the sixth of the series.  I do not normally read nonfiction, so I was surprised by how much I really like these books.  If you have even the tiniest bit of interest in history, give these a try.  They are unbiased.  They are well researched.  And, they lay out factual, proven events day-by-day in most of the books.  All quite fascinating and educational. 

Recipe of the Day

Nana’s Banana Bread via a recipe card labeled Grandma’s Kitchen that I have.  I think I got it in the mail many many moons ago.  This is the best banana bread recipe I have ever tried.  Usually The Hubs makes it for me.  I like to buy bananas from the store and not eat them and then blink my eyes all pathetic-like at him when we have an excess of overly-ripe bananas on the counter so he’ll make some for me.

  • 5 Tbsp butter
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/2 c brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c mashed bananas
  • 1 3/4 c flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 c heavy cream
  • 1/3 c chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350F.  Spray bottom of 9x5x3″ loaf bread pan with nonstick cooking spray.  Beat butter in large bowl with an electric mixer set at medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add granulated sugar and brown sugar; beat well.  Add egg, egg whites, and vanilla; beat until well blended.  Add mashed banana and beat on high speed 30 seconds.  Combine flour, baking soda, salt, and baking powder in medium bowl.  Add flour mixture to butter mixture alternately with cream, ending with flour mixture.  Add walnuts to batter; mix well.  Pour batter evenly into prepared loaf pan.  Bake until browned and toothpick inserted near center comes out clean, about 1 hour 15 minutes.  Cool bread in pan on wire rack 10 minutes.  Remove bread from pan; cool completely on wire rack.  Slice and serve with butter and jam.

Leave a Reply

