Deserted, Yet Full of Love

It makes me sad that the most likely time for a family gathering is a funeral.  But, I love my family dearly, and I will take time together with them whenever and whyever I can get it.  My great uncle’s funeral was held this past weekend in one of those towns in Oklahoma that is so small that you may doubt it is even a town as you pass through.  There are very few businesses, the homes are tired-looking, and only a ghost of the bustling place that it once was remains.  But, my family has much history there, so I feel a bit of belonging every time I visit.

The church that my great uncle attended is full of the most kind and loving people.  This, sadly, was the third family funeral that I have attended at that church.  And, the ladies always make a huge meal to feed the family before hand.  (This is really quite a feat since there are so many of us.)  They always make us feel welcome.  They always shower us with love.  I have been fortunate enough to attend other gatherings at this church that are not centered around a death.  I think that only in a place so small and desolate can you find people pulling together like they do.  Folks in that area definitely are there to support one another, and it makes my heart feel warm & fuzzy.

I hope that you had an opportunity to spend time this weekend with people that make you feel at home, too.  Much love to you all.

Song of the Day

Undeniable by Mat Kearney.  I love love love this song.  I had a great moment with a friend over this song.  Back when I was a bowler, I played this on the jukebox one evening.  He ran up to me, and we sang it to each other in front of the whole league.  Ha!  Greatness.

Book of the Day

The Shack by William Paul Young.  This is the story of a little girl who is kidnapped.  Evidence of her brutal murder is found in a shack in the mountains.  Her dad feels compelled to visit the shack to see things for himself, and there he meets God.  Great story!  Heart-wrenching and heart-warming both.  5 stars on Goodreads.

Image result for the shack william young

Recipe of the Day

Baked Scotch Eggs via http://www.sweetrecipeas.com.  Lovely for a hearty breakfast.  It’ll make you feel your Scottish roots, Laddy.

INGREDIENTS
  • 4 hardboiled eggs
  • 13.3 ounces mild Italian ground sausage (gluten free)
  • Coconut oil or olive oil
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Divide the sausage into 4 equal parts.
  2. Shape each portion into a flat round.
  3. Place a hard boiled egg on the sausage and wrap the sausage around and enclose the egg completely with sausage.
  4. Place on a baking sheet that has been greased with coconut or olive oil.
  5. Bake at 375F for at least 30 minutes. Mine take about 35. Your oven might differ.
  6. You can eat these warm or cold. They are a perfect high protein (23 grams per scotch egg) breakfast on the go.
Leave a Reply

