It’s All About Balance

I am 8 days behind on my exercise challenges and 9 days behind on my Bible reading challenge.  I haven’t gone to the gym once this year (I was going to start going three days a week at the beginning of the year now that the doctor has cleared me to do whatever).

I am doing better in other areas I am trying to work on, so 2017 isn’t a complete flop yet.  🙂  Tonight I did two nights of both exercise challenges trying to make up some ground.  That equaled out to 180 flutter kicks, 40 push ups, 1360 punches, and 3 minutes of high-knees.  And then I ate about 1/3 of a bag of dark chocolate covered potato chips.  It’s all about balance…..

Song of the Day

The Way You Move by Outkast featuring Sleepy Brown.  Because when trying to get some exercises in, you gotta have a song with a good beat to move to.

Recipe of the Day

Best Tomato Basil Soup via http://www.jennysteffens.blogspot.com.  My aunt posted on Facebook the other day that they have been dealing with the recent weather with soup and sandwiches.  That sounded marvelous to me, so The Hubs and I had this with grilled cheese tonight.  There’s nothing better on a drizzly, foggy, chilly night.

  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 – 14 oz. cans of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 – 14 oz. can of whole tomatoes
  • 2 cups of stock (chicken or vegetable)
  • 1 tsp of sea salt
  • 1 tsp of sugar
  • 1/2 tsp of fresh ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup of heavy cream
  • 3 tablespoons of fresh basil, julienned
  • parmesan cheese
In a saucepan, sauté garlic in olive oil on medium heat for 1 minute – being careful not to burn the garlic.  Add the crushed tomatoes.  Add the whole tomatoes one at a time, squeezing them into the pan to break them up.  Add the juice from the whole tomatoes, as well.  Add chicken stock, salt, pepper and sugar.  Cook the soup on medium at a simmer for 10 minutes.
To finish, reduce the heat to low and stir in heavy cream and basil.  Serve topped with parmesan cheese.

Book of the Day

Image result for the cat who braun

The Cat Who series by Lilian Jackson Braun.  My mom worked in a library when I was a wee lass.  By the time I was a teenager, I had read just about the entire children’s and young adult sections in the library.  I was allowed to read some adult books, with my mom meticulously screening my choices.  The Cat Who books were deemed appropriate, and I ate them up.  I have probably read the first 20 or so.  I remember giving a book report on The Cat Who Saw Red in fourth grade.  I think my teacher was a bit dismayed by my report that the red coloring on the pottery was created by the blood from the body that was disposed of in the firing kiln…..  Truly, they are all light-hearted mysteries.  I loved them.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

