Trying My Soul

Gah.  Life sometimes.  I swear.

So, The Hubs lost his job Friday.  Even though he was done completely wrong, he found it in himself to go shake the hand of the man who wronged him and tell him thank you for the opportunities and experience that he was given.  That was MUCH more classy than I handled it.  The Hubs really awes me sometimes.  I wish I had as much class and self possession as he does.

I have been trying very hard not to freak out.  I have never been good at winging life, which is why my life never really changes.  I know this is a blessing.  I believe that, but the urge to panic is still standing beside me, tugging on my shirt tails, and trying to get me to pay attention to it.

I have two people in my life who have reminded me the past couple of days that I am a daughter of God and need to act accordingly in this situation.  (So grateful for those who speak Truth to you and keep you in check.)  And, as I was reminded:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  – Philippians 4:6

I am hopeful and faithful that this is the beginning of new and better things for us.

We spent today with my grandma.  I am grateful for every moment that I get to spend with her.  We lost my grandpa almost two years ago.  His last months had a profound effect on me.  I was a self-absorbed teenager when my other two grandparents died, and I missed out on precious time with them.  So, I made every effort to spend every moment I could with my grandparents while my grandpa was dying.  I had the honor of being with him when he took his last breath, an experience that has forever scarred me.

My grandma has not been the same person since his passing.  I try to spend a much time with her as I can, but we live pretty far apart, and I don’t get to go nearly as much as I would like to.  It is so hard to leave her.  She is so happy and animated through each one of our visits, and I can visibly see her deflate when I leave.  It absolutely breaks my heart.  The end of today’s visit hit me harder than most.

And then, my car started acting up today.

I am choosing to be grateful for life trials seeing as that means I’m alive at all.  And, through all of this, I know that I’d rather have these troubles than anyone else’s.  My friend who was diagnosed with an aggressive cancer back in December is facing an extremely serious and important surgery in a couple of weeks.  I cannot wrap my mind around what he and his wife are going through.  I really have no right to be whining at all.  Thanks for listening to me vent.

Song of the Day

Hurt by Johnny Cash.  This is actually a remake of a Nine Inch Nails song, and is probably my favorite cover song of all time.  Definitely top 5.  He recorded it about a year before his death.

Book of the Day

Image result for velva jean learns to drive

Velva Jean Learns to Drive by Jennifer Niven.  I was trying to think of a book set back in my grandma’s day.  To be honest, I think it may take place a bit before my grandma’s time, but it has been a while since I’ve read it, so I’m not sure.  But, the harshness of life is similar.  The books takes place in the Appalachian mountains.  The people are all dirt poor and have to work extremely hard just to survive.  It is the story of Velva Jean, her coming of age, and her unhappy marriage to Harley, a hoodlum-turned-preacher.  There is a sequel, which is also a good read.

Recipe of the Day

Simple Wonton Soup via http://www.thewoksoflife.com.  The Hubs and I were watching an episode of Beat Bobbly Flay the other day, on which they cooked wonton soup.  So, he decided that we needed to make some as well.  Neither one of us have much Asian cooking experience, so we looked for a simple recipe and found this one.  It was good, but next time I will add chopped carrots, green peas, and mushrooms to the broth.  It definitely needed beefing up.

Ingredients
  • 10 oz. baby bok choy or similar green vegetable
  • 1 cup ground pork
  • 2½ tablespoons sesame oil
  • Pinch white pepper
  • 1 tablespoon seasoned soy sauce
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon shaoxing wine
  • Water
  • 1 pack wonton skins
  • 6 cups good chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • White pepper and salt to taste
  • 1 scallion

Instructions

  1. Start by thoroughly washing the vegetables. Bring a large pot of water to a boil and blanch the vegetables just until wilted. Drain and rinse in cold water.
  2. Grab a good clump of veg and carefully squeeze out as much water as you can. Very finely chop the vegetables (you can also speed up the process by throwing them in the food processor). In a medium bowl, add the finely chopped vegetables, ground pork, sesame oil, white pepper, soy sauce, salt, and wine. Mix very thoroughly until the mixture is totally emulsified—almost like a paste.
  3. Now it’s time to assemble! Fill a small bowl with water. Grab a wrapper and use your finger to moisten the edges of the wrapper. Add a little over a teaspoon of filling to the middle. Fold the wrapper in half and press the two sides together so you get a firm seal.
  4. Hold the bottom two corners of the little rectangle you just made and bring the two corners together. You can use a bit of water to make sure they stick. And that’s it! Keep assembling until all the filling is gone. Place the wontons on a baking sheet or plate lined with parchment paper to prevent sticking.
  5. At this point, you can cover the wontons with plastic wrap, put the baking sheet/plate into the freezer, and transfer them to Ziploc bags once they’re frozen. They’ll keep for a couple months in the freezer, and be ready for wonton soup whenever you want it.
  6. To make the soup, heat your chicken stock to a simmer and add sesame oil , white pepper, and salt.
  7. Bring a separate pot of water to a boil. Carefully add the wontons one at a time to the pot. Pick up the pot and use a swirling, twisting motion to keep the pot moving and prevent the wontons from sticking to the bottom. If they do stick, don’t worry, They should come free once they’re cooked. They’re done when they float. Take care not to overcook them – mushy wontons are a sin! Remove the wontons with a slotted spoon and put them in bowls.
  8. Pour the soup over the wontons and garnish with scallions. Serve!

 

2 thoughts on “Trying My Soul

  1. sonsan5 says:

    Oh no! I can’t wait to see the doors that God opens for your husband. I will be praying right along with you for your sweet family. I love your faith! Remember Job…today’s devotion is good too. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

