There’s Gotta Be More to Life

What do you want to be when you grow up?  Assume that you have all the time in the world and every opportunity under the sun to get any kind of education or training.

I think that I want to be a forensic scientist, member of a symphony, travel blogger, book proofreader, and food critic who does tons of volunteer work all around the world in my free time.  Either that or a gypsy.

If there is anyone out there looking to fill such a position, please let me know.

A while back, I read a trilogy on my Kindle.  The experience made my eyes twitch.  All three books were absolutely riddled with errors.  I don’t understand that.  I know that we are all human, and we all make mistakes, but I would think that if a company is bothering to publish a book, there should be people (and/or computers!) in place whose job is to proofread.  I mean seriously.  It seems that a publishing company would want to make a better impression.  After finishing the third book, I immediately tracked down the company’s information and sent them an email offering my services and explaining why I felt the need to reach out to them.  I received a generic response that kindly directed me to the employment section of their website.  All of the jobs were located about as far from where I live as you can get and still be inside the US.  So much for that, but I’m not giving up!

I feel that my days at my current job are numbered.  I have been here for almost 15 years, and the shy, sweet, polite, motivated young lady they hired has slowly been replaced by a jaded and cynical woman whose BS tolerance is extremely low and who often lets her mouth operate on its own free will.  Frankly, I’m shocked that I’m still here.  But, I am good at what I do.  I know that sounds like I’m tooting my own horn, but I’m not.  Anyone else could be good at this job, if they were so inclined to dedicate 15 soul-sucking years to it.  The point is, I’m looking for a fabulous job opportunity that will let me help people (not help already rich people make even more money) and see new places.  I work hard.  And, I feel that there is still a good person lurking inside of me somewhere.  I am willing to try and find her again, if you’re willing to give me a chance.  🙂

Much love to you all.

Song of the Day

More to Life by Stacie Orrico

Book of the Day

Image result for the collector nora roberts

The Collector by Nora Roberts.  The main character in this book, Lila Emerson, is a professional house-sitter and author.  A house-sitter!  She spends all of her time going from nice house to nice apartment all over the world taking care of people’s homes and pets while they travel.  (Gah!  How do I score something like that?)  While gazing out of the window of one client’s apartment, she witnesses a murder/suicide.  This leads to her meeting a hunky big-time artist, fighting for her life, helping to solve the murder etc. etc.  Good book.  I like most everything I read by Nora Roberts.

Recipe of the Day

Baked Potato Grilled Cheese via http://www.bsinthekitchen.com.  Man, these are good.  When something is this good, calories shouldn’t matter.

  • 2-3 Strips of Bacon
  • 1 Potato
  • 2 tbsp of Sour Cream
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Green Onions/Chives
  • 2 Slices of Bread
  • Butter
  • Canola Oil
  • Garlic Powder
  • Salt & Pepper

To start things off, get a pan on medium heat with enough canola oil to lightly cover the bottom (you could also use olive oil or butter). Cut your potato into even slices, you will need 4-5 slices for the sandwich, then place them in your pan, cooking each side until browned and crispy.

While cooking, salt and pepper the potatoes to taste (they don’t have to be too salty as the bacon with help with the saltiness as well) and sprinkle a light pinch of garlic powder. In another pan cook your bacon on medium heat to desired tenderness (I liked mine crispy for this sandwich!).

While everything is cooking, slice your bread (use some crusty bread like french or sourdough if you have it), and generously butter the outside of each piece. On the inside, put about 1 tablespoon of sour cream on each slice as well as slices of cheddar cheese on each side. Once your potatoes and bacon are finished frying, dab them on paper towel to remove some grease, then fan the potatoes out on your bottom slice of bread, put a little more sour cream on top of the potatoes if you desire (I did to help the bacon and chives stick in the sandwich). Slice up one green onion stalk and spread it on top of the potatoes along with the bacon. Place your other slice of cheese on top of all of this and top with your bread!

Now just grill the sandwich in a pan on medium heat until each side becomes golden brown. Once this is done, dig in and ENJOY!

One thought on “There’s Gotta Be More to Life

Leave a Reply

