No More Wild and Crazy Nights

Some realities hit harder than others. After falling asleep on the couch in mid-movie, The Hubs wakes me up.

TH: Babe, why don’t you go to bed….since you can’t even stay awake until 9pm.

M: Gah! I know! I’m so old!

TH: It’s pathetic is what it is.

M: **hangs head and slinks off to bathroom to brush teeth with newly acquired electric toothbrush that I bought on my dentist’s recommendation**

Did I mention that I just turned another year older?

I hope y’all had a blessed weekend.  I truly did.  Life sure is different when you opt to spend your birthday weekend going on nature hikes, perusing garage sales, and staying home while The Hubs cooks you a wonderful birthday dinner.  I wouldn’t trade it for anything!

Song of the Day

Life’s Been Good by Joe Walsh.  “I can’t complain, but sometimes I still do.”

Book of the Day

Ford County by John Grisham.  This is a collection of seven short stories set in Ford County, Mississippi, the setting of A Time to Kill.  I don’t think I have ever read anything by Grisham that hasn’t had me absolutely hooked from the very beginning, and this one is no different.  5 stars on Goodreads.

Recipe of the Day

Homemade Tater Tots via http://www.damndelicious.net.  The Hubs and I made these last night, and I was frankly stunned at how well they turned out.  Who knew that dill and oregano could make a tot so damn delicious (pardon the pun)??  And, it wasn’t as much work as I had anticipated.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 pounds russet potatoes, peeled
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried dill
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley leaves

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place potatoes in a large saucepan and cover with cold water by 1 inch. Bring to a boil and cook until parboiled, about 6-7 minutes; drain well and let cool.
  2. Using a box grater, finely shred potatoes. Using a clean dish towel or cheese cloth, drain potatoes completely, removing as much water as possible.
  3. Transfer potatoes to a large bowl. Stir in flour, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano and dill; season with salt and pepper, to taste. The mixture should be workable but dry. Form potatoes into tots.
  4. Heat vegetable oil in a large stockpot or Dutch oven over medium heat.
  5. Add tots to the skillet, 5 or 6 at a time, and cook until evenly golden and crispy, about 3-4 minutes. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate.
  6. Serve immediately, garnished with parsley, if desired.*
Leave a Reply

