A Doubting Leone

via Daily Prompt: Doubt

Doubts hold me back.

Not doubts in regards to faith.  I have no doubts that God is God and that Jesus gave His life to save our poor wretched souls.  But, doubts in regards to life.  I want to up and move so badly.  I want to just sell most of everything that we have and head off to parts unknown with the faith that we will find jobs and a place to live before we starve to death on the streets.  But, I have doubts that this is possible.  Which is crazy because I know people who have lived their entire lives like this.  Don’t like your job?  Just quit.  No income?  Who cares?  They still manage to find a way to live, to eat, to get the things they need, and in many cases take care of their children, to go on fabulous vacations, etc.  So, I know it’s possible somewhere deep down inside, I just have doubts on my ability to live like this.  Responsibility is all at once a virtue and a downfall.  Or perhaps I’ll just never ever be comfortable expecting someone else to take care of me.  I need someone to pick me up by the seat of my britches and chunk me out into the world.  I’m knocking on 40.  It is about time I grew up and experienced life after all.  “Somebody help me, please.  Somebody help me, please!!!” <—- in the voice of Mr. Green from one of my all-time favorite movies, Clue.

Song of the Day

Mary Jane’s Last Dance by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers.  The instrumental intro to this song will make me stop dead in my tracks, regardless of what I’m doing, to turn up the volume.

Book of the Day

Image result for darker shade of magic

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab.  Last weekend, The Hubs and I were looking for a garage sale out in the boonies.  We were using Google Maps, headed down the highway.  ‘Make a U-turn’ it told us.  So, we do.  And, before we find the county road, it tells us to ‘make a U-turn’.  And, so we do.  And then, it almost immediately instructs us to ‘make a U-turn’.  I told The Hubs that I have been reading too many magic-themed books because I half expected, in the back of my mind, for a road to magically appear after the third loop–like Kell’s coat in A Darker Shade of Magic.  He has a “many-sided” coat.  He just keeps turning his coat inside out, inside out, inside out until he comes across the particular coat he is looking for…..

Recipe of the Day

Crock Pot Cream Cheese Chicken Chili (aka White Chili) via http://www.instructables.com.  The temperature here dropped about 20 degrees over the last couple of days, though it still doesn’t come close to feeling like winter.  I am posting this in the hopes that winter will still make an appearance if we pretend like it’s going to….

Ingredients:
1(+/-) pound frozen, boneless, skinless chicken (or two chicken breasts)
1 15 oz. can black beans
1 15 oz. can corn
1 10 oz. Mexican style tomatoes
1 8 oz. package cream cheese
½ cup water
1 package Ranch dressing mix (about 1 ½ Tbs.)
1 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. ground cumin

Place the frozen chicken in the bottom of your crock pot.  Open the black beans and put them in the colander.  Rinse the beans and add them to the crock pot.  Open the tomatoes and pour them on top of the beans.  Open the corn and drain them in the colander.  (The reason I drain the corn is that, in the past, when I have made something with corn and its juice, the corn juice over powered the other flavors in the dish.)  Add the corn on top of the tomatoes, and add ½ cup water to provide the right amount of moisture to cook your chili.  Add the 3 seasoning powders: the ranch dressing mix, the chili powder and the ground cumin.  Use your spoon to mix everything together.  Next add dabs of cream cheese to the top of the mixture, using the whole package.  Put on the lid and plug in the slow cooker.  Turn it on low and cook undisturbed for 6-8.  At the end of 6-8 hours remove the lid and stir until the cream cheese is all melted in and the chicken is all broken up, mixing everything together.  Serve with corn bread or chips or biscuits.  Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “A Doubting Leone

Leave a Reply

