For Sale: Memories and Miscellany

The Hubs and I have decided to do a major possession purge.  We hope to move in the next year, and we don’t want to lug all of this crap around with us.  Also, we have been talking about why we have all of this crap exactly.  A large portion of it never sees the light of day, never gets touched, used, looked at.  It is all meaningless possessions.  I am trying to rid my life of the meaningless.  Step one of this purge is a garage sale.

I have spent most of the weekend sorting through tubs and boxes.  This has been quite an adventure.  It is almost like going through a time capsule and reliving our twenty years of marriage.  I can’t tell you how many times I exclaimed “I forgot all about this!” and how many time I have shaken my head at why in the world we still have some of this crap.  And, since my memory SUCKS ARSE, the process has been quite baffling at times–like when we unearthed a keg tap.  A keg tap?  What the what??  I don’t even like beer.  I don’t remember hosting a keg party–not one time.  I do remember attending a few, but why did we purchase a keg tap?  The Hubs assures me that it did get used.  Alrighty then.

We also have an abundance of Bibles.  I do think everyone should have a Bible, but I don’t think anyone needs twenty.  So, I’m putting most of them out with a price tag of “free” in hopes that people will take them and read them and find the Truth.  Maybe I should place the keg tap next to the Bibles as some sort of statement.  I don’t know what that statement is exactly–perhaps a snapshot of a journey in life.  I told my mom about this, and she said I should advertise this sale as “having a little bit of something for everyone”.  I like it.

Other books discovered in my stash this weekend:  TV Superstars ’83 and Charles in Charge…..

I hope you have had a productive weekend as well.  If not, I hope you lounged about in your pjs eating bonbons and thoroughly enjoying yourself.  Much love to you all.

Song of the Day

Disarm by Smashing Pumpkins.  One of my faves from my high school days, since we’re taking a trip down memory lane and all….

Book of the Day

Image result for where'd you go bernadette

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple.  Bernadette is a wife and mother with a reputation and social anxiety, who goes missing just before a scheduled family trip to Antarctica.  The book is narrated by her teenage daughter, Bee.  I read the book for a book challenge a couple of years ago.  It is HI-larious.  I’d like to go missing more often than not……

Recipe of the Day

Meatloaf.  My favorite meatloaf recipe, in fact.  Via a submission by someone named Angie Duncan in a cookbook I have owned forever titled Cooking For a Cure.

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c milk
  • 1/3 c bread crumbs or crackers
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 2 Tbsp onion
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp dry mustard
  • 1/4 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • dash of A-1 steak sauce
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder (I like to use 1/4 tsp chili powder and 1/4 tsp chipotle chili powder)
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder

Combine all ingredients.  Put in casserole dish and bake, uncovered for about 1 1/2 hours at 350 degrees.

2 thoughts on “For Sale: Memories and Miscellany

  1. I’m definitely gonna be trying this meatloaf recipe! I can never seem to make a good one in my own. Lol.
    And I totally know what you mean about having to much stuff and wanted to pare down. I need to do that myself.
    Thanks for sharing this post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

