Just a Short Thought

The more life you live, the heavier it gets.  I think I carry mine on my face.

Song of the Day

7 Years by Lukas Graham.  “Soon I’ll be sixty years old.  My daddy got sixty-one.  Remember life and then your life becomes a better one.”

Book of the Day

Image result for into the wild novel

Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer.  This is the sad but fascinating story of Chris McCandless (aka Alex Supertramp), who walked alone into the Alaskan wilderness in 1992 and never came out.  A friend of mine told me about this book, and I was rather judgy of McCandless before I read it.  How can someone go into such a harsh environment so ill-prepared?  How can someone just drop off the face of the earth, as far as their family is concerned, and make them worry?  But, after reading the book, you find that he was maybe more prepared than it seemed on the surface.  He was an educated man, who just wanted to live life in a different way than the mainstream, I suppose.  It was a very interesting book.  I am looking forward to reading The Wild Truth, which is his sister, Carine’s account of Jon’s story.

Recipe of the Day

Hoppin’ John.  This is a recipe I’ve made 1000 times.  I don’t know where I learned to make it.  I have made it for company many times, and people are always surprised to love it.

  • 2 cans purple hull peas, juice drained from 1 can
  • 2 bell peppers (any color)
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 lb diced or cubed ham
  • 1 c uncooked rice
  • Louisiana hot sauce
  • sour cream

Dice vegetables.  Cook them along with the ham in olive oil in a large skillet until onions are translucent.  Add the peas and juice from one can.  Season with several dashes of Louisiana hot sauce.  Cook until heated through.  While this part is cooking, cook rice according to package directions.  Serve ham and veggie mixture over the rice.  Garnish with sour cream and more hot sauce.

2 thoughts on “Just a Short Thought

Leave a Reply

