Like a Deer in Headlights

Last night as I lay in bed, it occurred to me that my self-preservation skills are not up to snuff.  What had happened was…..

I was all snuggled in, on the verge of drifting off.  The Hubs was in the living room watching ye ol’ boob tube.  Quite suddenly, an odor came drifting through the air vents.  It wasn’t necessarily a bad odor, but it was an off odor.  The (very irrational, I’ll admit) thought that crept through my mind was that someone was sending poisonous gas into our ventilation system.  (I think I read too much fiction.)  Did I spring into action?  Did I shout out a warning to The Hubs?  Did I put a pillow over my face as I tried to get us out of the house alive??  No.  No I did not.  I just lay there perfectly still, petrified really, trying to figure out what that increasingly strong odor was, all the while risking paralyzation or even death!

Several agonizing minutes passed by before I grabbed my phone and texted The Hubs:

Did you burn some popcorn?

I hope none of you is ever relying on me in a crisis……

Like my ATX friend always says, “y’all have a ROCKIN’ day!”

Song of the Day

Joy to the World by Three Dog Night.  This is another gem that my mom used to sing to me.  Love love love it.

Book of the Day

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi.  This is one of the first books I listened to when I discovered that audiobooks may keep me from going postal at work.  The setting is post-apocalyptic and steampunk-ish.  The story is about a teenage boy who works on a scavenging crew that strips old ships of copper wiring.  He has an accident at work that almost costs him his life, but he lives and comes across a yet undiscovered clipper ship, which is occupied by a lone survivor–a rich young girl.  He has to choose between the job of a lifetime or saving her.  Good book.  Different, but good.

Recipe of the Day

Artichoke, Fresh Mozzarella, and Salami Sandwiches (aka Stinky Sandwiches) via http://www.bonappetit.com.  I was craving a good ol’ stinky Italian sandwich one day, and The Hubs and I came across this recipe.  Let me say that I hate green olives, but I tried them with olivada anyway.  Delicious!  All of it!

Ingredients

MAKES 4 SERVINGS

  • 2 6-ounce jars marinated artichoke hearts, drained, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped drained oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 5-inch-diameter or 6-inch-long Italian rolls, split in half lengthwise
  • 12 ounces fresh water-packed mozzarella, drained, sliced
  • 6 ounces salami, thinly sliced
  • 8 tablespoons green olivada

Preparation

Mix first 5 ingredients in medium bowl to blend. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Divide artichoke mixture among bottom halves of rolls. Top with cheese, then salami. Spread top half of each roll with 2 tablespoons olivada. Place atop salami. Press sandwiches lightly to compact and wrap each tightly in plastic wrap. Refrigerate sandwiches at least 4 hours and up to 1 day.

Green Olivada via http://www.foodnetwork.com

Ingredients

  • 3 cups (20 ounces) pitted good quality green olives
  • 4 peeled cloves garlic
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil (if the olives are packed in olive oil, then use the oil from the jar)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Puree all of the ingredients in a food processor; season to taste with salt and pepper. Transfer to a jar and pour 1/4-inch of olive oil over the top to preserve; refrigerate for 2 weeks or freeze for longer.

Leave a Reply

