Unravel

via Daily Prompt: Unravel

The days get so twisted up;

Tiny strands of stress and work.

But at night there is always you

To unravel it in our bed.

But then sometimes I do it to us;

Not there for you like you need.

I let life get in the way,

And I unravel us instead.

Daily I make plans and goals.

They dance around in my thoughts.

Things I should be working toward,

But doubts unravel them in my head.

I’m the oldest I’ve ever been

And the youngest I’ll ever be.

I must seize life and see the world

Lest I unravel until I’m dead.

Song of the day

Blood in the Cut by K. Flay.  Wow.  This is a pretty disturbing song.  I never realized how messed up just listening to it on AltNation in my car.  Still has a catchy sound to it……  **EXPLICIT LYRICS**

Recipe of the Day

Hobo Packs.  I make these every now and again for dinner.  What I like about them is they’re so flexible.  You can put just about anything in them from fish to beef to pork to just vegetables!  I usually do beef but tried smoked sausage last night and was not disappointed.

  • 1-2 (or more!) lbs of meat depending on how many people you’re feeding
    • When using ground beef, I usually season the whole pound very well and work the seasonings in with my hands.  Then, I break it up into 3 patties and make 3 hobo packs out of it.  You can do more or less in each one.  Whatever.
    • If using smoked sausage, just cut up into bite-sized pieces and distribute between packs.
    • If using chicken, cut into bite-sized pieces, season, and distribute.
    • Etc.
  • A variety of vegetables
    • Potatoes are always a nice choice.  Very filling, and 1 decent-sized potato can fill up several packs.
    • Carrots are also a good one.  You can peel and chop up 1-2 carrots to split between several packs.
    • Onions are easy.
    • Fresh or frozen green beans.  Just a few go a long way!
    • If you’re going strictly all-vegetable, you may use some other fillers like asparagus, turnips, butternut squash, Brussels sprouts, etc.  The possibilities are endless.
  • A pat of butter for each pack.
  • Salt & pepper
  • A condensed soup of some sort (optional).  My favorite to use is cheddar broccoli soup.  Just add a scoop or two to each pack.
  • Foil.  One large square per pack.

Lay out one large square of foil for each pack you plan on making.  Start with the meat.  Place one serving on the center of each foil square.  Start piling on the veggies.  Salt and pepper (and perhaps Cajun seasoning or whatever else you may like) each stack.  Top with a pat of butter and a spoonful or two of the soup, if using.

Carefully fold up each foil square into bundles, being careful to seal up every edge as best you can.  (It will leak, if you don’t!)  If you are grilling out, place each bundle on the grill and cook until the potatoes are fork-tender.  If you’re using an oven, place all of the bundles on a large cookie sheet.  Cook them all together at 425 for about an hour, until the potatoes are fork-tender.  Viola!

Book of the Day

Image result for one hundred names cecelia ahern

One Hundred Names by Cecelia Ahern.  It has been about 3 years since I’ve read this book, so I don’t feel I can give an accurate summary.  I do remember that it is about a journalist who is in trouble.  Her mentor dies before she can help very much.  The journalist finds a sheet of paper with 100 names on it at her mentor’s bedside, and she throws herself into finding out the link between all of the people listed.  It was a very good and touching read from what I remember.  Must’ve been because I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

