I’m So Knocking Knackered

via Daily Prompt: Knackered

Knackered.  What a fun-sounding word for such an unpleasant state.  And, what an appropriate Daily Prompt word for a Friday.  I am most definitely knackered today.  This has most definitely been a most knackering week.  (Is that a word?)

Thank God the weekend has finally arrived.  Literally.  I am LITERALLY thanking God.  I have had an extremely busy work week.  My husband, bless his heart, has been working on a job with his brother that has been a nonstop barrage of problems.  It has come to a blessed end today.  And, I’ve had a lot on my mind the past couple of weeks, and that has certainly left me feeling knackered.

The thinking too much and worrying is the most tiresome of everything.  It is something I seldom do.  It tells us in the Bible time after time not to worry, not to be anxious.  And, usually, I don’t.  I have found in life that just rolling with the tide is best.  I don’t know why I’m suddenly going against God’s word here and wasting any time, effort, and sleep worrying about the future.  Especially since I can’t really pinpoint what it is I’m anxious about.  I just feel…..unsettled.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:6-7
Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6
Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken. Psalm 55:22
And on and on and on……
I get to spend much of tomorrow with my family, which is always refreshing for a knackered mind and soul.  Hopefully, that time will put my my at ease, and I can let go of this silliness.
We are gathering for my sister’s grandson’s 1st birthday party.  I cannot believe that he is one already!  And, I still cannot believe that my sister is a grandmother!  I often feel that I have trouble wrapping my head around such things because I never had children myself.  I don’t guess things would seem so shocking if I had.  Perhaps in my mind, I’d feel more like an adult than I do.  My life has not changed much in the last 20 years, and I often feel like that has stymied my mental growth….or my progression in life.  But, that’s one more thing I should not waste mental effort on.  🙂  I am just going to relish the time with everyone tomorrow and enjoy watching a one-year-old’s awe and wonder at being the center of attention and being lavished with silly gifts.  He is so darn cute.
I hope you all have a refreshing weekend.  And, I hope you are all feeling less knackered by the end of this evening.

Song of the Day

Clint Eastwood by Gorillaz.  “I’m happy.  I’m feeling glad.  I’ve got sunshine in a bag…..”

Book of the Day

Image result for the woman in cabin 10

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware.  I was disappointed by this book.  It was on so many must-read lists!  I totally expected to be blown away by it.  But, alas, I was not.  It’s the story of Lo Blacklock, a journalist whose career has been pretty stagnant for a decade or so.  She is finally given the assignment of a lifetime when she lands a trip on the maiden voyage of a luxury cruise ship destined for the Northern Lights.  She almost immediately stumbles into a mystery after boarding, and her life is endangered when she reaches out for help.  I was never really pulled in to the story line.  The plot, though promising, was poorly executed.  It wasn’t awful, but it certainly didn’t live up to all of they hype.

Recipe of the Day

I am going to do something a bit different here.  Instead of posting a recipe that I have tried, I am going to ask a recipe question.  I watch a lot of cooking shows on TV.  I am quite obsessed with food.  Often on these shows, I see chefs making flavored or infused butters.  Have any of you tried this?  What do you like to use them on?  Do you have a favorite infused butter recipe?  If so, please share your experiences with me!  I would very much like to try to make my own…..

Leave a Reply

