I love a quotable book.

Good evening, all.

So, I’ve mentioned our Reading Challenge before.  (It still isn’t too late to join, if you’re interested!)  One of the categories this year is a book about a road trip.  For that category, I am currently reading Blue Highways by William Least Heat-Moon.  It’s a non-fiction account of the author’s trip around the US on lesser highways (aka blue highways….blue on a map as opposed to more major red highways).  I have quoted this book a couple of times on Ye Ol’ Great Facebook already, and I’m barely a couple of chapters in.

Beware thoughts that come in the night. They aren’t turned properly; they come in askew, free of sense and restriction, deriving from the most remote of sources. – William Least Heat-Moon, Blue Highways

Another line, which isn’t exactly quotable because of elegance or profoundness, but which I love nonetheless:

1 Coleman cooler (empty but for a can of chopped liver a friend had given me so there would ALWAYS be something to eat); – William Least Heat-Moon, Blue Highways

This is an item from a list of items that Heat-Moon brought with him on this trip.  I just love the idea behind this…that a friend would give you something so wretched…something that nobody would want to eat because you will always have it and therefore always have something to eat in case the need arises.  What a caring, brilliant act.  Am I alone in appreciating this?  Surely not….

I love books like this.  Not only do I totally envy the author’s courage to set out on such a long trip with little money and a vehicle that probably isn’t up to such a long drive, but I find it to be just so well written.  I love authors with such a way with words that I am compelled to read and reread passages just to soak them up.  When reading such books, I often read lines out loud to The Hubs.  He rarely appreciates this, which doesn’t stop me…. 🙂

Anywho.  Reading is just about all of I’ve done with my weekend so far.  I did get out earlier and vote in my little town’s special election, the result of which did not go how I wanted.  And, I did go have dinner this evening with some of my in-laws.  Good food.  Good company.  The house cleaning, art projects, letter writing, and phone calls that I promised myself that I would tend to this weekend are still waiting patiently for my attention.

Much love to you all!

Song of the Day

I almost hate to come up with a song of the day since I am doing the 100 Day Song Challenge, but I guess that I will anyway.  I have 6 canvases hanging on the walls in my bedroom, where I currently am kicked back with my laptop watching #LivePD.  They were all painted by me and all contain snippets of song lyrics.  One reads “Some nights I stay up cashing in my bad luck.  Some nights I call it a draw,” which is from Some Nights by fun.

Book of the Day

Image result for blue highways

What else would I pick but Blue Highways:  A Journey Into America by William Least Heat-Moon since that’s primarily what this blog entry is about?  If you’re curious about the author’s name, by the way, he’s of Native American decent.  His dad was known as Heat-Moon, his brother as Little Heat-Moon, and he as Least Heat-Moon.  I’m not far enough into this book to rate it, but I’m sure it is going to be a fascinating read.

Recipe of the Day

Cheesy Bacon Mushroom Fettuccine via http://www.cookingpanda.com.  I made this for dinner a couple of nights ago, and thought it was delightful.  And, it was extremely easy to make.

Ingredients


  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 4 slices bacon, cooked and chopped
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup parmesan, grated
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
  • 8 ounces fettuccine noodles

Instructions


1) Cook pasta according to package instructions. Drain and set aside.

2) In a large skillet over medium high heat, heat oil and add mushrooms. Cook for 3 minutes, or until mushrooms soften. Add garlic and white wine.

3) Add bacon, heavy cream, salt and pepper. Bring to a light boil.

4) Add grated parmesan and parsley. Stir until sauce is thick. Add cooked pasta and stir until full coated. Cook for an additional minute.

5) Remove from heat and serve! Top with more parmesan cheese and chopped parsley. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

