Bring on the Future

Hello, people.  I hope you have all been doing fabulously in the time I’ve been neglecting my blog.  🙂  Life has been non-stop busy busy.  It’s sad when you have to plot out rest weeks ahead of time.  I think, “I can take a day off this weekend….”  No.  Wait.  I have this going on.  Okay.  “I can take a day off the following weekend.”  No…..I have to go here.  Sigh….  No wonder life passes so quickly.  And no wonder my housekeeping has been seriously slacking lately….

On top of being busy, there has been a lingering air of uncertainty.  Mine and The Hubs’ future is up in the air….not our relationship….but with where we’ll be and what we’ll be doing.  I am all kinds of open to change.  The Hubs has had several opportunities open up in front of him, and whatever happens will dictate the next portion of our lives.  I, on the other hand, am not having the response I’ve hoped for in my job hunt.  I have 15 years experience in my field.  You’d think I wouldn’t have that much trouble finding a job in that field.  But, I have faith if I have nothing else.  I certainly don’t know God’s plan, but I’m open to finding out whatever it is!  The promise of life changing up some finally is rather exciting.

As always, I’ve been reading.  And eating.  Ha!  I’ve mentioned before my love of savoring well-written lines and paragraphs.  Here are a couple of unexpected physical descriptions that made me smile:

“Baffa was potbellied, with a sagging chest, thick jowls, a drooping forehead, and a downward-bending mustache, so that when he sat, he seemed like a layer of frowns stacked in a chair.” – Mitch Albom, The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto

“Next to me, a lady nearing her seventh decade kept between us a white purse big enough for a mugger to hide in. She wore a black wig. Her devil-may-care red lipstick had come unhitched and slipped a notch; her layers of nail polish were chipped like paint on an old dory; and her hands lay in two piles on the bar, the slack skin taken up by plumpness. As for the Jungle Gardenia perfume, it was only a question of time before tsetse flies hit.” – William Least Heat-Moon, Blue Highways

Best wishes to you all.  May you find the ability to not take other people’s bitterness personally.  (This is something I face at my job every day.  It is so freeing when you can just let things roll off your back.)

Song of the Day

Like a Stone by Audioslave.  In memory of the late Chris Cornell.  Suicide sucks.  It makes me so sad that people get to a place where they don’t think there is any other option except to end things.

Book of the Day

Image result for illuminaeImage result for gemina

Illuminae and Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.  I used to despise sci-fi, but I have started to enjoy some of it in recent years.  These are the first two (and so far only, though there is an already-titled third book in the works) books of The Illuminae Files series.  The books are set 500 years in the future.  There are space ships, artificial intelligence, inter-galactic battles, and uber talented teenagers who outsmart the adults and save the day.  I honestly don’t think I would have liked them as much if I hadn’t listened to them in audiobook format.  They are performed by a full cast and are done very well.  I gave them three and four stars respectively on Goodreads.

Recipe of the Day

Oven-Baked Leek & Bacon Risotto via http://www.bbcgoodfood.com.  Back when my community had Bountiful Baskets (let’s take a moment to mourn……..), I got a basket with leeks, and I found this recipe as a way to use them.  It was my first experience with risotto, and I fell absolutely in love.

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil 
  • 6 rashers smoked back bacon, roughly chopped
  • 2 leeks, halved lengthways and finely sliced
  • 250g risotto rice

  • 700ml hot chicken or vegetable stock
  • 175g frozen peas
  • 3 tbsp soft cheese
  • zest 1 lemon 

Method

  1. Heat oven to 200C. Tip the oil into an ovenproof casserole dish. Add bacon and fry for 2 mins. Add the leeks and cook until soft, but not coloured, for about 4-5 mins. Tip in rice and cook for 1 min more. Pour over stock. Cover and place in the oven for 20 mins, stirring halfway.
  2. When rice is just tender and all liquid is absorbed, remove from oven and stir in peas. Place back in oven for 2 mins more. Remove and stir in cheese. Add zest and season.
Leave a Reply

